Two performances in Spain – May 13, 2011 and June 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009)

for flute, viola and piano
Ensemble Gaudi 
Orfeo Maones. Temporada de concerts de JJMM de Mao – May 13, 2011 
Auditori Municipal de Terrassa (Barcelona) – June 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009) for flute, viola & piano is an arrangement of the original flute & guitar piece of the same title for the Ensemble GAUDI of Barcelona (Sofia Martinez, flute, Joan Felix,viola, and Isabel Felix, piano.)

This work is based on five paintings by Francisco Goya.

Ensemble Gaudi premiered Goyescas at the Festival Internacional de Musica (Concerts de Mitjanit) de Sitges (Spain) on June 28, 2009. A subsequent performance took place on February 10, 2010, at the ESMUC (Escola Superior de Musique de Catalunya) in Barcelona. More recent performances of this work have taken place at La Pedrera de Caixa Catalunya in Barcelona on August 21 and 22, 2010.

Goyescas consists of seven movements (the first two are attaca.) The duration is about 21 minutes.

I.     Pregón
II.    La familia de Carlos IV (The family of Charles IV)
III.   Las majas en el balcón (The maiden on the balcony)
IV.   El sueño (The dream)
V.    La fragua (The foundry)
VI.   Toque
VII. La gallina ciega (Blind man’s bluff)

Goyescas will be available by Hofmeister MusikVerlag later this spring. Until then, score is available from Hidden Oaks Music Co.

Joan Felix, Isabel Felix, Elisenda Fabregas, and Sofia Martinez after the Spanish premiere of Goyescas for flute, viola and piano on June 28, 2009 at the Sala d’Or of the Palau Maricel (Concerts de Mitjanit) in Sitges.