Singapore – July 13, 2013

Members of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra

Roberto Alvarez, flute
Zhang Manchin, viola
Liu Jia, piano 

Goyescas for flute, viola and piano (2009) 
July 13, 2013
SSA Chamber Series at SOTA 

Goyescas (2009) for flute, viola & piano is an arrangement of the original flute & guitar piece of the same title for the Ensemble GAUDI of Barcelona. Goyescas is based on five paintings by Francisco Goya – GOYAS’ PAINTINGS

Ensemble Gaudi premiered Goyescas at the Festival Internacional de Musica (Concerts de Mitjanit) de Sitges (Spain) on June 28, 2009. A subsequent performance took place on February 10, 2010, at the ESMUC (Escola Superior de Musique de Catalunya) in Barcelona. More recent performances of this work have taken place at La Pedrera de Caixa Catalunya in Barcelona on August 21 and 22, 2010.

Goyescas consists of seven movements (the first two are attaca.)

I.     Pregón
II.    La familia de Carlos IV (The family of Charles IV)
III.   Las majas en el balcón (The maiden on the balcony)
IV.   El sueño (The dream)
V.    La fragua (The foundry)
VI.   Toque
VII. La gallina ciega (Blind man’s bluff)
Review of Goyescas (in German.)
Goyescas is published by Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag