Ode to fortitude (2024) sopr., mezzo, women’s choir and orchestra

Oda a la Fortaleza (2024) (Ode to fortitude) is a symphonic poem for soprano, mezzo, women’s choir and orchestra based on my own text. This Ode was commissioned by the Orquestra Simfònica del Vallès and the Palau de la Música Catalana as an overture before Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony. The text of the Ode is in Catalan and equivalent to Schiller’s but from a woman’s point of view. The most important phrases of the text – which helped me organize the structure, narrative and dramatic and sometimes epic feeling of the work are the following. The first phrase is “Som persones primer, dones després (We are people first, women second), which appears at the beginning of the work and tells us what the music is about; the soloists and the choir firmly reiterate the word “SOM” (We are) accentuated by orchestral iterations in different registers. The second essential phrase, Endavant sense por! (Forward without fear) is a call to action that appears several times in the work but especially at the end.

The premiere took place on April 6 and 7, 2024, at the Palau de la Musica Catalana

TEXT in Catalan, English (link includes instrumentation also)






‘Parlen les dones’ for mezzo, SATB Choir and Orchestra – El Cor Canta, March 5, 12:00, 2023 – L’ Auditori de Barcelona; and March 11, at the Auditori Enric Granados, Lerida.


The Flaming rock (La Roca llameante) for SATB Mixed chorus and String Quartet (2007)

Duration: 13’22”
Commissioned by the Allegro Chorale & Orchestra Inc. of Midland/Odessa conducted by Nyela Basney.
Premiered by the Allegro Chorale & Orchestra conducted by Nyela Basney and the Cassatt String Quartet on November 17 and 18 in Midland and Odessa, Texas.
New York city premiere by Cantori New York at the Church of the Holy Trinity on March 7, 2009.

TEXT (English and Spanish) of the Flaming Rock.
Live performance by Cantori New York in New York City (3/7/2009)Full Audio


Vocal score and string parts


Study score (letter size 8.5×11)


Conductor score (large size 11×17)

Published by Hidden Oaks Music Company.

Bonna Domna for string orchestra and SSAATTBB Choir (2001/04)

Duration: 8’30”
Choir with string orchestra version of the 2001 Bonna Domna a capella choral piece commissioned by the Dale Warland Singers.