Lansing, Michigan – Oktober 28, 2012

Aufführung des Ikarus Trio bei der Lansing Orchester Kammermusikreihe
Oktober 28, 2012
Konzert in der Molly Grove Kapelle bei First Presbyterian Church, Lansing

Stimmen meiner Grundstücken für Flöte, Cello und Klavier.

Zusätzlich zu Voces de mi tierra, die Icarus Trio Programm standen Werke von Norman Dello Joio, Ginastera, und Manuel de Falla ua.

Veröffentlicht von Hofmeister Musik Verlag.

Meininger-Trio'S Aufnahme ofVoces de mi tierra für Flöte, Cello & Klavier ist verteilt auf dem Hänssler Profil Edition Label veröffentlicht durch Naxos. Verfügbar um Amazon.com

Zwei Aufführungen in Freiburg – Mai 31, 2012 und Juni 6, 2012

Stimmen von der Rainforest (2007) für Flöte, Cello und Klavier

Willst Trio-Strich
Mai 31, 2012 und Juni 6, 2012
Freiburg venues

Die Ersteinspielung ofVoices der Regenwald durch die Meininger-Trio durchgeführt wird, auf Haensler Datensätze verfügbar. Diese Aufnahme gehört auch Musik von Libby Larsen,Chen Yi und Kate Waring. Hier ist eine kleine Vorschau auf die Abdeckung und Inhalte!

 

Premiere in Hwaseong, Süd-Korea – Mai 26, 2012, 5 PM

Rückkehr zur Erde (2012)

für Sprecher, Klarinette, Fagott, Trompete, Posaune, Schlagzeug, Violine, und Kontrabass
Katalanisch Texte von Dichtern Josep Carner und Joan Maragall.

Virtuoso Ensemble
unter der Leitung von Unai Urrecho und Erzähler Jong Hoon Yoo
Dong Tan Art Center von Hwaseong
Mai 26, 2012, 5 PM

Unai Urrecho und Jong Hoon Yoo Erzähler an der Hwaseong Arts Center (Ban Sook Konzertsaal der Dong Tan Art Center von Hwaseong) Mai 26, 2012. Die Virtuoso Ensemble enthält Rodrigo Puskas, Violine; Hyo Sun Lee, Kontrabass; Hyonsuk Kim, Klarinette; Nguyen Bao Anh, Fagott; Eric Robins, Trompete; Lim Hyun Su, Posaune; und Kevin Clarke, Schlagzeug.

Diese Zusammensetzung wurde durch zwei Gedicht in der katalanischen Sprache inspiriert: Retorn eine Catalunya von Josep Carner und La Arora von Joan Maragall. Carner Gedicht beschreibt sowohl die Aufregung und Nostalgie er nach der Rückkehr in sein Land nach einer langen Abwesenheit fühlt sich. Maragalls Gedicht ist eine Hommage an die Sardana, Das Nationale Tanz von Katalonien. Diese Arbeit hat drei Bewegungen – der erste und der zweite miteinander verbunden sind. Carner Gedicht wird an verschiedenen Punkten in den ersten und zweiten Satz lesen. Nur einen Absatz von Maragall Gedicht wird zu Beginn des dritten Satzes lesen.

Ich. Die Sierra Feuer (Der Berg des Feuers) wird durch Gefühl der Erwartung und Aufregung des Gedichts an der Rückkehr in Catalunya inspiriert, und auch durch die sprichwörtliche katalanische Stärke. Wie das Gedicht sagt: “alle alten Galgen … dass uns verbindet” (die alte Kraft … das macht uns Familie).

II. In Aufzeichnungen (Erinnerungen) die Musik frei verwendet, um Fragmente von alten katalanischen melancholischen Melodien, die einen mittelalterlichen religiösen Ton auf die gesamte Bewegung vermitteln.

III. Tanz (Tanz) ist eine Hommage an die Sardana und nutzt seine Grundrhythmus, sowie typische melodische Wendungen der Tanz.
Rückkehr zur Erde verwendet die gleiche Besetzung wie Die Geschichte vom Soldaten von Strawinsky und beide Werke werden auf dem gleichen Konzert durchgeführt werden.

Text von Josep Carner Gedicht Rückkehr zur Erde

Rückkehr zur Erde (2012)

Rückkehr zur Erde (2012)

 

Musik-Fest Stuttgart (Deutschland) – August 31, 2011

Stimmen von der Rainforest (2007) für Flöte, Cello und Klavier

Meininger Trio

Stimmen des Regenwaldes für Flöte (Altflöte), Cello und Klavier (2007) wurde für die schriftliche Meininger-Trio.
Die Premiere der Stimmen der Regenwald fand im WDR-Konzerthalle in Köln, Deutschland, März 15, 2008. Dieses Konzert wurde im April ausgestrahlt 26, 2008, auf WDR-Programm Nachtmusik. Die Vorpremiere fand im Ibero-Amerikanischen Institut in Berlin am März 14, 2008. Dieses Konzert wurde von der spanischen Botschaft in Berlin gefördert und dem Oro Verde (Tropischer Regenwald-Stiftung)

 

Zwei Auftritte in Spanien – Mai 13, 2011 und Juni 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009)

für Flöte, Viola und Klavier
Genießen Ensemble
Orfeo Ones. Konzertsaison JJMM Mao – Mai 13, 2011
Municipal Auditorium Terrasse (Barcelona) – Juni 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009) für Flöte, Violett & Plan ist eine Anordnung der ursprünglichen Flöte & Gitarrenstück mit dem gleichen Titel für die zusammen GAUDI von Barcelona (Sofia Martinez, Flöte, John Felix,Violett, und Isabel Felix, Boden.)

Diese Arbeit basiert auf fünf Gemälde von Francisco Goya.
Sehen Goyas’ MALEREI

Ensemble Gaudi Premiere Goyescas bei der International Music Festival (Mitternacht Konzerte) Sitges (Spanien) Juni 28, 2009. Eine nachfolgende Aufführung fand am Februar 10, 2010, am ESMUC (Musique School of Catalonia) in Barcelona. Neuere Aufführungen dieses Werkes stattgefunden haben, bei La Pedrera de Caixa Katalonien in Barcelona am August 21 und 22, 2010.

Goyescas besteht aus sieben Sätzen (die ersten beiden sind ATTACCA.) Die Dauer beträgt ca. 21 Protokoll.

Ich. Verkündigung
II. Die Familie Karls IV (Die Familie von Karl IV)
III. Stampfen auf dem Balkon (Das Mädchen auf dem Balkon)
IV. Der Traum (Der Traum)
In. Die Schmiede (Die Gießerei)
VI. Berühren
VII. Die Maden (Blinde Kuh)
Lesen Sie die komplette Hinweise zum Programm

Goyescas verfügbar sein wird durch Hofmeister MusikVerlag später in diesem Frühjahr. Bis dann, Score ist verfügbar von Hidden Oaks Music Co.

John Felix, Isabel Felix, Elisenda Fabregas, und Sofia Martinez nach der spanischen Premiere von Goyescas für Flöte, Viola und Klavier im Juni 28, 2009 am Sala d'Or der Palau Maricel (Mitternacht Konzerte) in Sitges.

SITGES

Drei Aufführungen in Deutschland – September 4 – 5 und Oktober 14, 2010

Gazelles Liebe (2009)

für Sopran, Flöte und Klavier
(Poesie von Federico Garcia Lorca)
Jörg Waschinski und die Meininger-Trio
Grunstadter Sternstunden – September 4, 2010
Bingen – September 5, 2010
München im Gasteig, Kleiner Saal – Oktober 14, 2010

Gazellen Liebe (2009) auf drei Gedichte basiert von spanischen Dichter Federico Garcia Lorca (aus der Sammlung Gacelas,von Diwan von Tamarit (1931-1934). In seinem Gacelas, die leidenschaftliche und sinnliche Stimme von Lorca brennt mit maximaler Intensität. Die Gacelas sind verliebt und erotisch in der Natur und schildern metaphorisch sowohl das Leid und Ekstase gebracht durch ‚romantischen’ Liebe. Musikalisch ist diese Arbeit mit modalen Unterton in einer eindrucksvollen, aber feine spanische Musik Atmosphäre gesetzt.

Diese Arbeit wurde von Christiane Meininger in Auftrag gegeben und geschrieben für Jörg Waschinski, männlichen Sopran; Christiane Meininger, Flöte; und Rainer Gepp, Plan. Vollständigen Konzertprogramm.
Die Uraufführung fand am Zentrum für Internationale Lichtkunst in Unna (Deutschland) Juni 18, 2009. Konzertbericht lesen (auf Deutsch) (auf Englisch).

AWAY

Rainer Gepp, Elisenda Fabregas, Jörg Waschinski und Christiane Meininger nach der Premiere von Gacelas de Amor im Juni 18, 2009.

Dieses Konzert wurde gesponsert von der amerikanischen Botschaft, die Zentrum for Information und Bildung in Unna, das Zentrum für Internationale Lichtkunst in Unna (Deutschland) und ein Reisestipendium der Peabody Institute of John Hopkins University

JWsmallerCMpromotion3

 

Barcelona – Juli 7, 2010

Homenaje a Mompou (2006) für Klavier

Festival of Song 2010
Max Lifchitz, Plan
American Studies Centre Auditorium in Barcelona (via Augusta)
Juli 7, 2010

Homenaje a Mompou (2006) wurde von Marcel Worms in Auftrag gegeben, die diese Arbeit in Europa und in der US-geführt. einschließlich der Stiftung Frederic Mompou in Barcelona. Im April 18, 2010, Max Lifchitz durchgeführt Homenaje a Mompou Im Rahmen des Nord / Süd Konsonanz Konzertreihe an Christus und St. Stephans-Kirche in New York City, Upper West Side. Dieses Konzert wurde teilweise gesponsert von New York Women Composers

Hinweise zum Programm

Veröffentlicht von Hidden Oaks Music Co.

Zusätzliche Informationen über katalanische Komponisten Federico Mompou.

max150x188

Finnland – Mai 27, 2010

Stimmen meiner Grundstücken für Flöte, Cello und Klavier

Leistung bei Tapiola Symphony Concert Series in Finnland
Hanna Juutilainen, Flöte
Flöte Tuija Rantamaki, Cello
Naoko Ichihashi, Plan

Mai 27, 2010

Voces de mi tierra wurde für die schriftliche Meininger-Trio und wurde auf dem 15. Internationalen Bodensee-Festival in Meers uraufgeführt, Deutschland, Mai 24, 2003.

Voces de mi tierra hat viele Auftritte in den USA und Europa einschließlich erhaltener Bargemusic in Brooklyn (NY), Cactus Pear Music Festival (Texas), Mendelssohn-Fest Boden 2005 – Kammermusik im Schumann-Haus, Leipzig; Potsdamer Festspiele SansSouci, Potsdam, Brandenburg (Deutschland); Bodensee International Music Festival in Bad Waldsee, Deutschland. Kammergruppen, die Voces de mi tierra durchgeführt haben, gehören die Meinungen Trio (Deutschland), NeoArs Sonora (Spanien), Alle Saison Chamber Players, Toki Zusammen, zusammen Neolit, Terzetta Trio, Front-Trio , Kathryn Meister und Freunde, und Erde Artikel.

Veröffentlicht von Hofmeister Musik Verlag.

Ich. Die Brautwerbung (Brautwerbung)
II. Nacht in der Alhambra (Nacht in der Alhambra)
III. Das Mädchen und der Zigeuner (Witze) (Der Bauer und der Zigeuner)
IV. Jig.

PERFORMANCE

Hinweise zum Programm

Meininger-Trio‚S Aufnahme von Voces de mi tierra für Flöte, Cello & Klavier ist auf dem Haenssler PROFIL EDITIONlabel verteilt erhältlich durch Naxos.

NEW YORK – März 7, 2009, bei 8:00 PM

The Flaming Rock for SATB Chor und Streichquartett (2007)

Cantori New York mit Mark Shapiro Durchführung
NEW YORK Premiere! März 7, 2009, bei 8:00 PM
Kirche der Heiligen Dreifaltigkeit, 316 East 88th Street, New York City

Homenaje a Mompou wurde vom niederländischen Pianisten in Auftrag gegeben Marcel Worms. Die Uraufführung fand bei einem Mompou Festival in Amsterdam im November 2007 und anschließende Konzerte in Holland, Inklusive Hertogenbosch, und das U.S..

“Ich habe immer das Gefühl, sehr nah an Mompou Musik. Ich für ihn in geführt in Barcelona 1978 rechts vor dem Klavier an der Juilliard School in New York City zu studieren. Ein paar Jahre zurück, Mompou hatte durchgeführt und auf seine Musik lehrte an der Juilliard School und er war gut in Erinnerung und es respektiert. Mompou war eine sehr eindrucksvolle und große Mann, mit sehr großen Händen, aber mit einer sehr sanften und ruhigen Persönlichkeit. Während in New York studiert und durchgeführt von den meisten Mompou Musik. Die katalanische Melodien in seine Musik hat mich sehr nostalgisch meines Landes. Später, Die Studie von Mompou Musik erwies sich als starken Einfluss auf meine eigenen Kompositionsstil sein. Wenn im Sommer 2006 Marcel Worms kam auf mich zu mit der Idee, das Schreiben einer Hommage an Mompou für den 25. Jahrestag seines Todes wurde ich begeistert!” (Elisenda Fabregas)

Homenaje a Mompou ist ein Satz von drei kurzen Stücken:

Ich. Schreit auf der Straße (Schreit auf der Straße)
II. Ich habe eine Puppe in blau gekleidet (Ich habe eine Puppe mit einem blauen Kleid)
III. Straßenspiele (Straßenspiele)

Hinweise zum Programm Zum Kauf angeboten

2009 KONZERTE

Januar 23, 2009 – Philadelphia Chamber Music Society . Premiere von Goyescas (2009) für Flöte und Gitarre von Marina Piccinini, Flöte, und Emanuele Segre .

Februar 1, 2009, 3 PM – Alfred Newman Halle, USC Campus University Park Campus, University of Southern California – Performance von Auswahlen aus fünf Lieder (1986) arr. für Mezzo und von Mezzo auf Text von Garcia Lorca basierend Janelle DeStefano an ihrer DMA Erwägung Titel Spanisch Song: Ein Nachmittag der spanischen Lied

Februar 15, 2009 – Musik bei Riverdale Konzertreihe – Leistung von Voces de mi tierra (2003) durch Erde Artikel .

März 5, 2009, 4 PM – Bridgewater College- – Leistung von Voces de mi tierra (2003) durchErde Artikel .

Juni 14, 2009, 3 PM – Smithsonian American Art Museum, McEvoy Auditorium – Leistung von Portraits II (1999) durch die West Shore Klaviertrio mit Flötisten Kathryn Meister.

Juni 21, 2009, 6 PM – Unna International Lichtkunstzentrum, Unna bei Dortmund / Deutschland – Weltpremiere Gazelles Liebe (2009) für Sopran, Flöte und Klavier, geschrieben für und von männlichem Sopran Jörg Waschinski uraufgeführt werden, und Mitglieder der Meininger-Trio

Juni 28, 2009 – Sitges International Film Festival (Mitternacht Konzerte) – Premiere vonGoyescas für Flöte, Viola und Klavier (2009) , geschrieben für Martinez, Isabel Felix und Joan Felix.

Juli 6, 2009 – Auditorium von La Pedrera von Caixa Katalonien. durch die gesponserten Stiftung Frederic Mompou. Spanisch Premiere von Homenaje a Mompou (2006) für Klavier von PianistMarcel Worms.

November 4, 2009 – Bargemusic, NY – Leistung von Voces de mi tierra durch die Zusammen Neolit.

November 17, 2007 (8:00 PM) (Midland) und 18 (3:00 PM) (Odessa), 2007. Premiere und mehrere Aufführungen Die flammenden Felsen für gem Chor und Streichquartett von derAllegro Chorale and Orchestra Inc. von Midland / Odessa von Nyela Basney und führte dieCassatt String Quartet. Im Auftrag des Allegro / Chorale and Orchestra Inc. von Midland / Odessa.

November 29, 2007, 9:00 PM PM –Hertogenbosch, Ausstellungsraum, Holland. Leistung vonHomenaje a Mompou für Klavier solo von Pianisten Marcel Worms und Andalusischen Farben für Cello und Klavier von Cellist Larissa Groeneveld.

Lansing, Michigan – October 28, 2012

Performance by the Icarus Trio at the Lansing Orchestra Chamber Music Series
October 28, 2012
Concert at the Molly Grove Chapel at First Presbyterian Church, Lansing

Voces de mi tierra for flute, cello and piano.

In addition to Voces de mi tierra, the Icarus Trio program included works by Norman Dello Joio, Ginastera, and Manuel de Falla among others.

Published by Hofmeister Musik Verlag.

Meininger-Trio‘s recording ofVoces de mi tierra for flute, cello & piano is released on the Haenssler PROFIL EDITION label distributed by Naxos. Available at Amazon.com 

Two performances in Freiburg – May 31, 2012 and June 6, 2012

Voices of the Rainforest (2007) for flute, cello and piano

Trio Quer-Strich
May 31, 2012 and June 6, 2012
Freiburg venues

The premiere recording ofVoices of the Rainforest performed by the Meininger-Trio is available on Haensler Records. This recording features also music by Libby Larsen,Chen Yi and Kate Waring. Here is a sneak preview of its cover and contents!

 

 

Premiere in Hwaseong, South-Korea – May 26, 2012, 5 PM

Retorn a la terra (2012)

for narrator, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone, percussion, violin, and double bass
texts by Catalan poets Josep Carner and Joan Maragall.

Virtuoso Ensemble 
under the direction of Unai Urrecho and narrator Jong Hoon Yoo
Dong Tan Art Center of Hwaseong
May 26, 2012, 5 PM

Unai Urrecho and Jong Hoon Yoo narrator at the Hwaseong Arts Center (Ban Sook Concert Hall of the Dong Tan Art Center of Hwaseong) on May 26, 2012. The Virtuoso Ensemble includes Rodrigo Puskas, violin; Hyo Sun Lee, double bass; Hyonsuk Kim, clarinet; Nguyen Bao Anh, bassoon; Eric Robins, trumpet; Lim Hyun Su, trombone; and Kevin Clarke, percussion.

This composition was inspired by two poem in the Catalan language: Retorn a Catalunya by Josep Carner and La Sardana by Joan Maragall. Carner’s poem describes both the excitement and nostalgia he feels on returning to his country after a long absence. Maragalls’s poem is an homage to the sardana, the National dance of Catalunya. This work has three movements – the first and the second are connected. Carner’s poem is read at various points throughout the first and second movements. Only one paragraph from Maragall’s poem is read at the beginning of the third movement.

I. La serra de foc (The mountain of fire) is inspired by the poem’s sense of expectation and excitement at the return to Catalunya, and also by the proverbial Catalan strength. As the poem says: “la forca tota vella … que ens agermana” (the old force … that makes us family).

II. In Records (Memories) the music freely uses fragments of old Catalan melancholic melodies that impart a medieval religious tone to the entire movement.

III. Dansa (Dance) is an homage to the sardana and uses its basic rhythm, as well as typical melodic turns of the dance.
Retorn a la terra uses the same instrumentation as L’Histoire du soldat by Stravinsky and both works will be performed at the same concert.

Text of Josep Carner poem Retorn a la terra

Retorn a la terra (2012)

Retorn a la terra (2012)

 

MusikfestStuttgart (Germany) – August 31, 2011

Voices of the Rainforest (2007) for flute, cello and piano

Meininger Trio 

Voices of the rainforest for flute (alto flute), cello and piano (2007) was written for the Meininger-Trio.
The premiere of Voices of the rainforest took place at WDR Concert Hall in Cologne, Germany, on March 15, 2008. This concert was broadcasted on April 26, 2008, on WDR’s program Nachtmusik. The pre-premiere took place at the Ibero American Institute in Berlin on March 14, 2008. This concert was sponsored by the Spanish Embassy in Berlin and the Oro Verde (Tropical Rainforest Foundation)

 

Two performances in Spain – May 13, 2011 and June 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009)

for flute, viola and piano
Ensemble Gaudi 
Orfeo Maones. Temporada de concerts de JJMM de Mao – May 13, 2011 
Auditori Municipal de Terrassa (Barcelona) – June 14, 2011

Goyescas (2009) for flute, viola & piano is an arrangement of the original flute & guitar piece of the same title for the Ensemble GAUDI of Barcelona (Sofia Martinez, flute, Joan Felix,viola, and Isabel Felix, piano.)

This work is based on five paintings by Francisco Goya.
See GOYAS’ PAINTINGS

Ensemble Gaudi premiered Goyescas at the Festival Internacional de Musica (Concerts de Mitjanit) de Sitges (Spain) on June 28, 2009. A subsequent performance took place on February 10, 2010, at the ESMUC (Escola Superior de Musique de Catalunya) in Barcelona. More recent performances of this work have taken place at La Pedrera de Caixa Catalunya in Barcelona on August 21 and 22, 2010.

Goyescas consists of seven movements (the first two are attaca.) The duration is about 21 minutes.

I.     Pregón
II.    La familia de Carlos IV (The family of Charles IV)
III.   Las majas en el balcón (The maiden on the balcony)
IV.   El sueño (The dream)
V.    La fragua (The foundry)
VI.   Toque
VII. La gallina ciega (Blind man’s bluff)
Read full PROGRAM NOTES

Goyescas will be available by Hofmeister MusikVerlag later this spring. Until then, score is available from Hidden Oaks Music Co.

Joan Felix, Isabel Felix, Elisenda Fabregas, and Sofia Martinez after the Spanish premiere of Goyescas for flute, viola and piano on June 28, 2009 at the Sala d’Or of the Palau Maricel (Concerts de Mitjanit) in Sitges.

SITGES

Three performances in Germany – September 4 – 5 and October 14, 2010

Gacelas de Amor (2009)

for soprano, flute and piano
(poetry by Federico Garcia Lorca)
Jörg Waschinski and the Meininger-Trio 
Grunstadter Sternstunden – September 4, 2010 
Bingen – September 5, 2010 
Muenchen at the Gasteig, Kleiner Saal – October 14, 2010

Gacelas de amor (2009) is based on three poems by Spanish poet Federico Garcia Lorca (from the collection Gacelas,from Diwan del Tamarit (1931-1934). In his Gacelas, the passionate and sensual voice of Lorca burns with maximum intensity. The Gacelas are amorous and erotic in nature and portray metaphorically both the suffering and ecstasy brought by ‘romantic’ love. Musically this work is set in an evocative but subtle Spanish musical atmosphere with modal overtones.

This work was commissioned by Christiane Meininger and written for Jörg Waschinski, male soprano; Christiane Meininger, flute; and Rainer Gepp, piano. See full concert program.
The premiere took place at the Center for International Light Art in Unna (Germany) on June 18, 2009. Read Concert review (in German) (in English).

UNNA

Rainer Gepp, Elisenda Fabregas, Jorg Waschinski and Christiane Meininger after the premiere of Gacelas de Amor on June 18, 2009.

This concert was sponsored by the American Embassy, the Zentrum for Information und Bildung in Unna, the Center for International Light Art in Unna (Germany) and a travel grant from the Peabody Institute of John Hopkins University

JWsmallerCMpromotion3

 

Barcelona – July 7, 2010

Homenaje a Mompou (2006) for piano

Festival of Song 2010
Max Lifchitz, piano
Auditorio Centro de Estudios Norteamericanos in Barcelona (Via Augusta) 
July 7, 2010

Homenaje a Mompou (2006) was commissioned by Marcel Worms who performed this work in Europe and in the U.S. including the Fundacio Frederic Mompou in Barcelona. On April 18, 2010, Max Lifchitz performed Homenaje a Mompou as part of the North/South Consonance Concert Series at Christ and St. Stephen’s Church on New York City’s Upper West Side. This concert was sponsored in part by New York Women Composers

PROGRAM NOTES

Published by Hidden Oaks Music Co.  

Additional information on Catalan composer Federico Mompou.

max150x188

Finland – May 27, 2010

Voces de mi tierra for flute, cello and piano

Performance at Tapiola Symphony Concert Series in Finland
Hanna Juutilainen, flute
Huilu Tuija Rantamaki, cello
Naoko Ichihashi, piano 

May 27, 2010

Voces de mi tierra was written for the Meininger-Trio and was premiered at the 15th International Bodensee Festival in Meersburg, Germany, on May 24, 2003. 

Voces de mi tierra has received many performances in the US and Europe including Bargemusic in Brooklyn (NY), Cactus Pear Music Festival (Texas), Mendelssohn-Festtage 2005 – Kammermusik im Schumann-Haus, Leipzig; Potsdamer Festspiele SansSouci, Potsdam, Brandenburg (Germany); Bodensee International Music Festival in Bad Waldsee, Germany. Chamber groups that have performed Voces de mi tierra include the Meninger-Trio (Germany), NeoArs Sonora (Spain), All Season Chamber PlayersToki Ensemble, neoLit Ensemble, Terzetta Trio, Davanti Trio Kathryn Master and friends, and Terra Voce

Published by Hofmeister Musik Verlag. 

I. El Cortejo (Courtship) 
II. Noche en la Alhambra (Night in the Alhambra) 
III. La moza y el gitano (Scherzando) (The peasant and the gypsy) 
IV. Gigue. 

PERFORMANCE HISTORY

PROGRAM NOTES

Meininger-Trio‘s recording of Voces de mi tierra for flute, cello & piano is available on the Haenssler PROFIL EDITIONlabel distributed by Naxos

NEW YORK – March 7, 2009, at 8:00 PM

The Flaming Rock for SATB Chorus and String Quartet (2007)

Cantori New York with Mark Shapiro conducting
NEW YORK Premiere! March 7, 2009, at 8:00 PM
Church of the Holy Trinity, 316 East 88th Street, New York City

Homenaje a Mompou was commissioned by Dutch pianist Marcel Worms. The premiere took place at a Mompou Festival in Amsterdam in November 2007 and subsequent concerts in Holland, including Hertogenbosch, and the U.S.

“I have always felt very close to Mompou’s music. I performed for him in Barcelona in 1978 right before going to study piano at the Juilliard School in New York City. A few years back, Mompou had performed and lectured on his music at The Juilliard School and he was well remembered and respected there. Mompou was a very imposing and tall man, with very large hands, but with a very gentle and quiet personality. While in New York I studied and performed most of Mompou’s music. The Catalan melodies in his music made me very nostalgic of my country. Later on, the study of Mompou’s music proved to be a powerful influence on my own compositional style. When in the summer of 2006 Marcel Worms approached me with the idea of writing an Homage to Mompou for the 25th anniversary of his death I was thrilled!” (Elisenda Fabregas)

Homenaje a Mompou is a set of three short pieces:

I. Crits en el carrer (Screams in the street)
II. Tengo una muneca vestida de azul (I have a doll with a blue dress)
III. Jocs de carrer (Street games)

PROGRAM NOTES    Available for purchase

2009 CONCERTS

January 23, 2009 – Philadelphia Chamber Music Society . Premiere of Goyescas (2009) for flute and guitar by Marina Piccinini, flute, and Emanuele Segre .

February 1, 2009, 3 PM – Alfred Newman Hall, USC Campus University Park Campus, University of Southern California – Performance of selections from Five Songs (1986) arr. for mezzo and based on text by Garcia Lorca by mezzo Janelle DeStefano at her DMA Recital titled Cancion Espanola: An Afternoon of Spanish Song

February 15, 2009 – Music at Riverdale Concert series – performance of Voces de mi tierra (2003) by Terra Voce .

March 5, 2009, 4 PM – Bridgewater College – performance of Voces de mi tierra (2003) byTerra Voce .

June 14, 2009, 3 PM – Smithsonian American Art Museum, McEvoy Auditorium – performance of Portraits II (1999) by the West Shore Piano trio with flutist Kathryn Master.

June 21, 2009, 6 PM – Unna International Lichtkunstzentrum, Unna near Dortmund/Germany – World premiere of Gacelas de Amor (2009) for soprano, flute and piano, written for and to be premiered by male soprano Joerg Waschinski, and members of the Meininger-Trio

June 28, 2009 – Festival Internacional de Sitges (Concerts de Mitjanit) – Premiere ofGoyescas for flute, viola and piano (2009) , written for Martinez, Isabel Felix and Joan Felix.

July 6, 2009 – Auditori de La Pedrera de Caixa Catalunya. Sponsored by the Fundacio Frederic Mompou. Spanish Premiere of Homenaje a Mompou (2006) for piano by pianistMarcel Worms.

November 4, 2009 – Bargemusic, NY – Performance of Voces de mi tierra by the neoLIT Ensemble.

November 17, 2007 (8:00 PM) (Midland) and 18 (3:00 PM) (Odessa), 2007. Premiere and several performances of The Flaming Rock for SATB chorus and string quartet by theAllegro Chorale and Orchestra Inc. of Midland/Odessa conducted by Nyela Basney and theCassatt String Quartet. Commissioned by the Allegro/Chorale and Orchestra Inc. of Midland/Odessa.

November 29, 2007, 9:00 PM PM –Hertogenbosch, de Toonzaal, Holland. Performance ofHomenaje a Mompou for solo piano by pianist Marcel Worms and Colores Andaluces for cello and piano by cellist Larissa Groeneveld.