Entries by Rita Danis

‘Homenatge a Mompou’ for piano solo (2007)

Duration: 7 ‘ Commissioned by Dutch pianist Marcel Worms. Premiered by Marcel Worms (November 2007) in a all-Mompou Festival in Amsterdam at the Noorderkerk, a beautiful church in the centre of Amsterdam, and at the Bethaniënklooster, a former 15th century monastery in the Wallen ‘red light’ district in Amsterdam. PROGRAM NOTES (read more) Published by Friedrich Hofmeister Musikverlag.   […]

Variaciones para Orquesta (1990)

Duration: 15′ Commissioned jointly by the Santa Fe Orchestra and the Maria Benitez Spanish Dance Company World premiere by the Orchestra of Santa Fe conducted by William Kirschke and choreographed and danced by Maria Benitez at the Lensic Theater in Santa Fe(5/12/90 and 5/13/90).

Symphony No. 1 for Symphonic Band (2011)

Duration: 27′ Commissioned by the Banda Municipal de Barcelona. Dedicated to its principal conductor Salvador Brotons Premiered at L’Auditori, Sala 1, Pau Casals, in Barcelona on February 9, 2014, at 18:00 PM. Conducted by Maestro Youngmin Park. PROGRAM NOTES: This Symphony consists of four movements: movement I and IV are traditionally symphonic – dramatic, with extensive thematic and rhythmic […]

Terra Mater for Symphony Orchestra (2011)

Duration: 14′ Commissioned by the Wonju Philharmonic of South Korea World premiere by the Wonju Philharmonic with Young-Min Park, Music Director and Conductor in Wonju, South Korea (10/20/2011). YOUTUBE VIDEO of Premiere Terra Mater is a compact one movement dramatic work for symphony orchestra (approx. 10′) that deals symbolically with the creative and destructive powers of nature. Terra Mater follows […]

Goyescas for flute and guitar (2008)

Duration: 20′ Goyescas for flute & guitar (2008) was commissioned by flutist Marina Piccinini and guitarist Emanuele Segre. Premiere by Piccinini and Segre at the Philadelphia Chamber Music Society on January 23, 2009. Goyescas is inspired by five paintings of Francisco Goya.  Click here for  GOYAS’ PAINTINGS I.      Pregón II.    La familia de Carlos IV (The family of Charles IV) III. […]

Portraits II for clarinet, violin, cello and piano (1999)

Duration: 17′ Commissioned and premiered by SOLI Chamber Ensemble at Ruth Taylor Concert Hall in San Antonio, TX, in January 2000. Review of premiere “Its tonal harmony, traditional forms and romantic sensibility mark “Portraits II” as conservative, but the composer’s individuality shows through in yearning dissonances, quirky juxtapositions of thematic material and a pervasive sensuality not […]

Voices of the Rainforest for flute, cello and piano (2008)

Duration: 23′ Written for the Meininger-Trio. Premiered by the Meininger-Trio at Nachtmusik – WDR Broadcasting Station in Cologne (Germany) on March 15, 2008. I. Awakening II. Sago gatherers III. Evening storm IV. Voices of inside night V. Night spirits Click here for full PROGRAM NOTES  Published by Friedrich Hofmeister Musik Verlag.